New York Style Cheesecake

My “Recipes” bookmark folder overflow-eth with desserts and entrees so I’m constantly throwing out ideas to the people around me of what I should bake. I’ve recently had my sights set on almost anything with “cookie dough” in the title. So I was suggesting desserts to my boyfriend one night when I stopped and thought to ask, “Well, what would you like me to make.” He requested cheesecake.


I set out to find a good, mildly basic recipe for said cheesecake. I ran into a small problem judging these recipes – I am not the greatest fan of cheesecake. I can appreciate and enjoy a well made one, but when given the choice between cheesecake and chocolate cake, I will always go chocolate. The first thing I learned about cheesecake is that it literally is just CHEESE. Five 8-ounce packets of cream cheese types of lots of cheese. But it was delicious, rich, cheesy and totally diet-undoing.

New York Style Cheesecake with Graham Cracker Crust (from Epicurious)

  • 1 1/2 cups (5 oz) finely ground graham crackers or cookies such as chocolate or vanilla wafers or gingersnaps
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 5 (8-oz) packages cream cheese, softened
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • Finely grated zest of 1 lemon
  • 5 large eggs
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
     Graham Cracker Crust
Stir together crust ingredients and press onto bottom and 1 inch up side of a buttered 24-centimeter springform pan. Fill right away or chill up to 2 hours.Cheesecake

Make crumb crust as directed above. Preheat oven to 550°F.

Beat together cream cheese, sugar, flour, and zest with an electric mixer until smooth. Add eggs and yolks, 1 at a time, then vanilla, beating on low speed until each ingredient is incorporated and scraping down bowl between additions.

Put springform pan with crust in a shallow baking pan. Pour filling into crust (springform pan will be completely full) and bake in baking pan (to catch drips) in middle of oven 12 minutes, or until puffed. Reduce temperature to 200°F and continue baking until cake is mostly firm (center will still be slightly wobbly when pan is gently shaken), about 1 hour more.

Run a knife around top edge of cake to loosen and cool completely in springform pan on a rack. Chill cake, loosely covered, at least 6 hours. Remove side of pan and transfer cake to a plate. Bring to room temperature before serving.

One Comment on “New York Style Cheesecake”

  1. Leslie Moore says:

    This looks and sounds yummy. I too would choose chocolate over cheesecake, but this makes me really want some of this cheesecake!


Leave a Reply

